Separate peace talk with EAOs be started on May 20


NP News - May 19
State Administration Council (SAC) will start the separate meetings with the EAOs respectively for the peace on May 20, Major General Zaw Min Tun told during the press conference held today (May 19) in Naypyidaw.

Ten ethnic armed forces that will meet with the Commander-in-Chief of the Defense Services Senior General Min Aung Hlaing involves: KNU / KNLA PC; PNLO; NMSP; ALP, RCSS / SSA; DKBA; LDU; UWSA NDAA and SSPP.

According to the Maj. Gen. Zaw Min Tun, the respective chairperson will be attending for the RCSS/SSA, DKBA and KNU/KNLA-PC.

Vice-chairs will be attending representing the SSPP, NMSP and ALP. In addition, UWSA and NDAA will also be attending the talk led by the vice-chairs by virtue of health or travelling situations of their chairmen.

Joint-secretaries will be attending representing the PNLO and LDU.

“All persons who will attend the peace talks are the leaders or the representatives (vice-chairs and secretaries) who received full recommendations by the chairperson or the Central Executive Committee respectively,” Maj. Gen. Zaw Min Tun said.

Chairman and vice-chair of the Lahu Democratic Union recently denounced the LDU’s decision of attending the peace talk. However, the rejection was made only by the chairman and the vice-chair. In fact, Lahu Democratic Union held its Central Executive Committee meeting online discussing the peace talk, in which, the two chair and vice-chair didn’t attend the online meeting. The LDU made a conclusive decision to attend the peace talk as per the CEC meeting, according to Maj. Gen. Zaw Min Tun.

During the press conference, Maj. Gen. Zaw Min Tun underlined again that “Almost all democratic countries do not have armed conflicts. Without peace or without terminating the internal conflict is a big challenge for the multi-parties election that the public has been dreaming of.”

Related news

© 2021. All rights reserved.